Receive Archive


Koenig To Receive His Hollywood Star

Walter Koenig will finally receive a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame next year.

Koenig was the only one of the seven original series actors without a star and fans had campaigned to rectify that oversight.

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce announced the recipients today and in addition to Koenig, the following television and movie actors will be receiving stars next year:

  • Adam West (Batman)
  • Valerie Bertinelli (One Day at a Time)
  • Matt Groening (The Simpsons)
  • Mariska Hargitay (Law and Order: Special Victims Unit)
  • Patricia Heaton (Everyone Loves Raymond)
  • Marg Helgenberger (China Beach, CSI: Crime Scene Investigation)
  • Jennifer Aniston
  • Vin Diesel
  • Scarlett Johansson
  • John Lasseter
  • Malcolm McDowell
  • Summer Redstone
  • Kate Winslet
  • Richard Burton (posthumous award)

Koenig’s star will now join those of William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, DeForest Kelley, Nichelle Nichols, James Doohan and George Takei on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Recipients have five years from the date of selection to schedule their ceremonies.


Saldana To Receive Award

Star Trek XI‘s ZoĆ« Saldana will be presented with a Midnight Award at the Midnight Awards segment of the 54th San Francisco International Film Festival, due to take place later this month.

The awards ceremony, which “takes the format of a late night talk show,” will be hosted by New York Times best-selling author Beth Lisick. Saldana will be interviewed by Lisick during the show.

Created in 2007, the Midnight Awards are given to a young actor and actress who have “made outstanding contributions to independent and Hollywood cinema” and bring intelligence, talent and depth of characters to their roles.” The name of the male actor receiving a Midnight Award along with Saldana has not yet been announced.

Saldana is best-known to sci-fi and fantasy fans for her role in Star Trek XI and Avatar. Last year, she appeared in Death at a Funeral and The Losers. Saldana will be seen next in Colombiana, due out in September.

Previous Midnight Award winners were Evan Rachel Wood and Elijah Wood (2009), Rose McGowan and Jason Lee (2008) and Rosario Dawson and Sam Rockwell (2007).

The Midnight Awards will be held at the W San Francisco at 10:30 PM, April 23, as part of the larger 54th San Francisco International Film Festival, which runs from April 21-May 5. Tickets can be purchased here.